What is a police scanner?

A police Scanner, is a type of radio, that can be used to receive Public Safety agencies and other radio broadcasts. They can be set to scan a large number of programmed channels, searching for radio activity. Many scanners will receive Police, Fire, EMS, Aircraft, Marine, CB, and other agencies.