Where did the term love come from in tennis?

This theory reflects the sport's long history of etiquette and sportsmanship. Others theorize that love arose from the French word for “egg,” l'oeuf, because a zero on a scoreboard resembles an egg. ... The word tennis most likely comes from the French word tenetz — meaning “hold!”