What band did iggy pop lead?

James Newell Osterberg Jr., better known as Iggy Pop, is an American singer, songwriter, musician, record producer, and actor. Designated the "Godfather of Punk." he was the vocalist and lyricist of influential proto-punk band the Stooges, who were formed in 1967.