What is the difference between speakers and headphones?

Headphones and speakers present sound in very different ways: speakers "play" the room, headphones "play" your ears. To clarify, when you're listening to speakers, more sound is reflected off the floor, walls, and ceiling than there is direct sound coming from the speakers.