Why are the red sox called the red sox?

In 1907, Boston Americans owner John I. Taylor settled on grey uniforms trimmed in red with pale blue stockings on the road. But at home, the Red Sox would have white uniforms with bright red stockings. And Taylor came up with the name “Red Sox,” which took hold in 1908 and has remained ever since.