What was the dunkirk evacuation?

At the beginning of World War 2, the German Army forced the French and British Armies back to the port of Dunkirk in France. In an amazing feat, both the British Navy and privately owned water craft were able to evacuate many of the soldiers who would have been stranded and taken prisoner.