Why is summer called summer?

Summer, or "Somer", is an Old English Language word dating back centuries and it simply means warm season.

---

“Summer” came from the Old English name for that time of year, sumor. It then began to pick up steam and became common in the 16th century—about the same time “fall” popped up as the name for the season. Before the season was autumn or fall in English, though, it was called “harvest.”