What age is considered an adult?

This is a cultural, rather than a scientific question. In some cultures, a person begins to take on some adult responsibilities as early as age 12 or 13. In others the age may be 16, 18, 21, or some other age. Worldwide the most common age is 18; in the US the age is 21.