Why are trees good for the environment?

Trees have many multiple beneficial properties,some include; absorbing carbon dioxide from, and replenishing oxygen in the air, providing food, from fruit, leaves and nuts, for both humans and other animals, providing shade and shelter for other creatures, as well as being the only source for wood.