Can sharks survive in fresh water?

Sharks that can survive in freshwater include the river sharks of Asia and Australia and the bull shark. The Ganges shark lives exclusively in freshwater.

---

A Great White Shark cannot tolerate freshwater, as found in rivers and lakes. In fact, most sharks can only tolerate saltwater or, at a very minimum, brackish water, which has more salinity than freshwater, but not as much as seawater.