What does uncle stand for in the man from uncle?

is an acronym for the fictional United Network Command for Law and Enforcement, a secret international intelligence agency featured in the 1960s American television series The Man from U.N.C.L.E. and The Girl from U.N.C.L.E.. U.N.C.L.E. .