What is a period?

the final punctuation of a statement, a segment of time, or the days in a woman's cycle of fertility where the uterus expels unused preparations for birth.

---

The word "period," spelled P-E-R-I-O-D, can refer to either a specific section of time in which a series of events happen (including a part of a woman's monthly cycle), or to a punctuation mark seen at the end of most written sentences.