Is kansas city in the midwest?

Yes, Kansas City is considered a Midwest city. Kansas City is actually two cities with the same name that straddle the Missouri river and state lines of Missouri and Kansas. The two cities are the city of Kansas City Missouri and the City of Kansas City Kansas.