What is the difference between manslaughter and murder?

The difference between manslaughter & murder lies in the intention of the perpetrator. In manslaughter, the person has no intention to kill, but it happened accidentally or as self defense. In a murder, a killer, has that intention of killing another person.

---

The correct answer will vary somewhat from state to state, but generally speaking, murder is associated with malice or intent.