How long does a pie have to cool?

For as long as you want it to. There's no rule about how warm a pie should be to be eaten. Generally, fruit pies are served warm or cold--but pies made of custard, pudding or squash get served cold so they hold their shapes when cut. Especially custard--which needs to be cooled before serving.