What type of icing is useful for sculpting?

Pastillage. If you're planning to sculpt a work of art with your cake decorating, you may want to consider pastillage, an icing similar to fondant. Pastillage sets hard and makes it easier to create sculpted décor for topping cakes, making it a top choice for creative bakers.