What's the difference between white vinegar and brown vinegar?

Vinegar is created when microorganisms consume alcohol, what it is made from determines the color. Distilled white vinegar is made from grain alcohol and has a sharp taste, while vinegar made from white wine or rice is pale yellow and tastes mellower. Brown vinegar is made from apple cider or malt.