What's the difference between spare ribs?

Spare ribs are taken from the bottom of the ribs – on the side of the belly of the pig. This is why they are bigger, meatier and a little tougher cut of meat. Loin-back ribs are taken from the top of the rib cage – close to the loin of the pig.