What was the first dinosaur discovered?

In 1676, Robert Plot, the curator of an English museum, described and drew a thigh bone believed to belong to a giant man. That fossil disappeared, the surviving illustration suggests that it was part of a Megalosaurus. Megalosaurus is believed to be the first dinosaur discovered scientifically.