Is sushi raw or cooked?

Typically the fish on nigiri sushi is raw, but some types are often cooked, like unagi.

---

Sushi is the rice, which is cooked in salted water and spiced with vinegar and sugar. The fish, roe, and vegetables are usually raw, while eel and chicken eggs are cooked.