What is energy in motion?

Energy in motion, or kinetic energy, is the energy an object has because of its motion. For example, when you throw a ball, the energy required to move the ball is transferred from your arm to the ball. Then, other items, such as friction and gravity, would determine the ball’s ultimate path.