What was the first car brand?

The first car brand was Duryea Motor Wagon Company, founded by the Duryea brothers in 1895. The two brothers built their first car, powered by a 1-cylinder 4-horsepower engine, in 1893.

---

That honor belongs to Duryea Motor Wagon Company or Springfield, Massachusetts, founded by the Duryea brothers in 1895. The two brothers built their first car, powered by a 1-cylinder 4-horsepower engine, in 1893.