Does prosciutto need to be cooked?

No. There are two types of prosciutto available. 1st: The prosciutto crudo is seasoned and air-dried, but while technically raw, it's safe to eat. This is also the most common type sold. 2nd: Prosciutto cotto is a type of cooked ham. Both types of prosciutto can be served without additional cooking.