Who sang ride the white pony?

The "Gap Band." The Gap Band was a funk and soul group, the three-piece being known for hits such as "Outstanding" and "You 'The Gap Band' rose up to the #10 slot on the top R&B Albums chart, their critical praise proved that they had earned the spotlight.