How do you clean garlic?

Pick off your cloves from the bulb, and lay the flat side down the side that was closest to the “heart” of the garlic on your cutting board with the curved side up. Then, take your chef's knife and with one hand holding the knife handle, lay either flat side of the knife on top of the garlic clove.