What is the first day of hurricane season?

June 1 is the official start of the Atlantic hurricane season, but this decade has demonstrated the tropics can come to life early. The June 1 to Nov. 30 dates for hurricane season were chosen to include about 97% of Atlantic tropical cyclones.