What year did they invent the telephone?

Alexander Graham Bell applied for the patent for the telephone on 14 February 1876 and it was granted March 7th. The first successful telephone transmission of clear speech was three days later when Bell spoke, "Mr. Watson, come here, I want to see you." and Watson heard each word distinctly.