Why is tobacco bad?

The tobacco plant is not bad. Smoking the tobacco plant, however, is harmful to your body because it has many harmful chemicals in the smoke. Nicotine is one of these chemicals, and it has been proven to cause cancer. The harmful chemicals in tobacco smoke affect nearly every system in your body.