How do you defrost a turkey in water?

leave the turkey unopened in the packaging, place the turkey in a large pot or roasting pan, and place the pot or pan in the bathtub. Run cold water over the turkey for 30 minutes per pound. So if it's a 12 pound turkey you'd run cold water over it for 6 hours.