What's an octave thorpe?

The proper term is octothorpe, which is an old time name for the pound sign, also called the hash mark. Stories abound about who first called the # sign an "octothorpe" and all claim the "octo-" part refers to the eight points on the symbol, but the "thorpe" remains a mystery.

---

It's a symbol also commonly known as a pound sign or a hashtag.