How do you cut a chicken?

Place the chicken, breast side down, on a cutting board with the neck end pointing away from you. Insert the knife into the front of the chicken. Work the knife from the neck to the tail of the chicken, and cut along one side of the backbone. It is important to cut as close to the bone as possible.