What is a good substitute for liquid starch?

Mix together 2 and a half cups of tap water and 1 and a half tbsp cornstarch in a saucepan (make sure there are no lumps). Bring the mixture to a boil for 1 minute then cool to room temperature. Fill a glass spray bottle. Some people add lemon juice too.