How long does it take a chicken to lay eggs?

Most chickens begin producing eggs at about 17 weeks of age. They typically provide at least 1 to 2 eggs daily during the first 2 years. After that, egg production slows down considerably and after about 4 or 5 years of age a chicken no longer produces many eggs.