What is a menstrual song?

According to p d music.org, Minstrel songs were written in the mid-1800s to accompany minstrel shows for entertainment. Meant to present comedic sketches in plays and musicals, Today, they are most known for the racist connotations and appearance of blackface actors and singers in the musicals.