What was the bloodiest war in world war two?

The Battle of Stalingrad was the deadliest battle to take place during the Second World War and is one of the bloodiest battles in the history of warfare, with an estimated 2 million total casualties.

---

the battle for Iwo Jima saw huge losses from both American and Japanese forces. The Japanese were told to fight to the last man, that meant no surrendering. very few Japanese were captured only 216. the body count was 6800 Americans killed in action, and 18,844 Japanese killed in action.