What happens when you add baking soda to vinegar?

When you mix baking powder and vinegar, a chemical reaction starts immediately which produces large amounts of carbon dioxide (CO2). This causes the mixture to bubble so violently. The mixture is particularly suitable for cleaning blocked drains, for example.