What is the mediterrean?

A region surrounding a sea between Southern Europe and North Africa to include countries such as Albania, Algeria, Bosnia, Herzegovina, Croatia, Cyprus, Egypt, France, Greece, Israel, Italy, Lebanon, Libya, Malta, Monaco, Montenegro, Morocco, Slovenia, Spain, Syria, Tunisia, and Turkey.