Was sam elliott a british actor?

Samuel Pack Elliott (born August 9, 1944) is an American actor.He then appeared in several Louis L'Amour adaptations such as The Quick and the Dead (1987) and Conagher (1991), the latter of which earned him a Golden Globe nomination for Best Actor – Miniseries or Television Film.