What state is stanford from?

Located 35 miles south of San Francisco and 20 miles north of San Jose, Stanford University is in an unincorporated area of Santa Clara County and is adjacent to the city of Palo Alto, California. The population of Palo Alto was 13,809 at the 2010 census.