Can i use cream of tartar instead of baking powder?

Cream of tartar or Potassium bitartrate is an acid that is a byproduct of winemaking. Baking powder is two parts cream of tartar and one part baking soda. The cream of tartar reacts with the baking soda to produce leavening. Cream of tartar is a stabalizer but not a leavener.