Why were the beatles called the beatles?

"Well, I had a vision when I was twelve. And I saw a man on a flaming pie, and he said, 'You are the Beatles with an A. ' And so we are." The quote was from John Lennon answering the already well-worn question of the origin of the Beatles name...