What does cream of tartar do to a recipe?

It's a dry, powdery, acidic byproduct of fermenting grapes into wine. Adding a small amount of cream of tartar when you're beating egg whites speeds up the creation of foam and stabilizes the structure of miniscule air bubbles you're whipping up. It creates very high peaks in the whipped egg white.