What were the daughters of liberty?

Much like the Sons of Liberty, the Daughters of Liberty was created in response to unfair British taxation in the colonies during the American Revolution, particularly the Townshend Acts of 1767 which imposed customs duties on imported British goods such as glass, paints, lead, paper and tea.