What was the first blade runner movie about?

Blade Runner is based on Philip K. Dick's story Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep. The movie is about a blade runner (Harrison Ford), a sort of detective and bounty hunter, who pursues and terminates rogue androids, or replicants. It asks questions about the nature of humanity and intelligence.