What's the difference between walnuts and pecans?

They do share the same family of trees but they have different shells and tastes. The simplest way to remember which one is which is that pecans are a darker color and have a smoother exterior than walnuts. Pecans have a sweeter taste than walnuts but walnuts are more buttery and bitter.