Tell me about the bombing of the u. s. s. cole?

The USS Cole, a U.S. Navy destroyer, was attacked in a suicide mission by 2 members of the terrorist group al-Qaeda on October 12, 2000. The 2 suicide bombers, in a small boat with a bomb, approached the Cole while it was docked in Yemen. The Cole survived, but 17 Navy sailors were killed.