What happened to rumpelstiltskin?

In the 1812 edition of the Brothers Grimm tales, Rumpelstiltskin runs away angrily, and never returns. A more gruesome ending was written for the 1857 edition. Other versions have Rumpelstiltskin driving his right foot so far into the ground that he creates a chasm and falls into it.