Who invented checks?

From Wikipedia: It is unknown who invented checks. The ancient Romans are believed to have used an early form of cheque known as praescriptiones in the 1st century BCE. In 1717, the Bank of England pioneered the first use of a pre-printed form on "cheque paper" to prevent fraud.