What does the sound of the whale?

Whales make noise to communicate, locate food, and find each other. Whistles and pulsed calls are used during social activities. Pulsed calls are more frequent and sound like squeaks, screams, and squawks to the human ear. Differing dialects have been found to exist within the same whale population.