What is the song of a cardinal?

“The Song of the Cardinal,” is a book written by Gene Stratton-Porter in 1903. It tells the story of a cardinal, the red songbird, from his hatching, to the hatching of his first children, interwoven with the story of the farmer on whose land he resides.